The Dillard Doctrine

Urban Conservative Commentary on Politics & Life

A Moment of Non-Partisanship

I believe it is time to settle this question in Norfolk. And the only way to do so is to put it on the ballot and let the voters decide. I’m willing to abide by the will of the people. Are you? Vivian Paige, writing in the Virginian Pilot

Whether or not our school boards are elected or appointed is a question that only we as residents of Norfolk can-and should answer. It’s our duty as responsible citizens in this great city. Me, writing in the New Journal and Guide

It’s often said that local issues aren’t necessarily partisan ones. Here’s proof of that statement.

The issue of whether or not Norfolk’s school boards should be elected or appointed is a question that only those who live here-and that means all of us, not just those who represent (in theory) us on City Council-can definitively answer. In order to do that, the question has to go before the electorate on the ballot.

I haven’t made up my mind either way, yet. I’ve seen what an appointed school board can do here, and “I’m not impressed” is probably too generous of a statement. The flipside to that is, having seen and experienced the ugliness of the campaign process, I know I don’t want to see that begin to adversely affect my kids or any other’s quality of education.

As we both say, though…at present, that’s not the issue. The only question that needs an immediate answer is “do you think the people of Norfolk have the right to choose for themselves how their school boards should be selected?”

I say yes…and I believe Vivian would agree.

So should you.

Written by Coby Dillard

February 2, 2012 at 10:57 am