The Dillard Doctrine

Urban Conservative Commentary on Politics & Life

The Hypocrisy of Our Democracy, Part II: The Politics of Spectacle

So while I’m waiting on Revs. Sharpton/Jackson to get my letters (and I put a return receipt on them just to make sure they got there, fully NOT expecting a actual response!), I ran across the story of one Megan Williams. (If you don’t know, and don’t choose to click the link….held in W. VA for apparently a week, allegedly beat, tortured, raped)

Um….where’s the outrage over this?

Wait…it’s West Virginia. Most residents are poor-or close to it-not enough of us out there to really make a difference, so why do we care? It’s not a big enough scene…not too many fundraising contributions coming out of a state that’s only 3.5% black, right? But yet, people are more than willing to travel to Louisiana and kick up dust, go to NY and kick up dust, come here to DC and screw with my morning commute…and why? Cause when the dust settles, there’ll be a nice lil bit of money left behind.

We as a people practice a politics of spectacle. We pick and choose the issue where we can make the biggest scene possible…and we ride it until the wheels fall off. It’s too difficult for us to attack every single issue, so we choose the ones we can get out in front of. We also look for the biggest “return on success;” if I go to Place X, are there enough people here who will continue to support me when I leave? And if there’s not-such as in West Virginia-then we’re not going.

Which, when you think of it, is kinda f’d up. Are blacks in West Virginia less deserving of the support of the black “community” because they can’t contribute to it financially? Do we really allow these national “activists” to pick and choose their battles based on what the locals can bring to the table?

Cause if that’s where we’re doing, it’s not activism…it’s classism, racisim, and discrimin…well, you get the point.

HB2DF,

-D.

Written by Coby Dillard

September 26, 2007 at 4:32 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I understand and semi-agree (which is scary) with where you’re coming from.
    However, in this case, the woman is getting justice from the system…these people are being slapped with the harshest penalties available

    Tamica

    September 26, 2007 at 4:56 pm

  2. Okay…since I was invited to comment, I’m going to…

    I went to Jena, La…not to be “in front” of anything but to show my support for some children who were being treated unfairly. I am a child advocate and will protest any wrongdoings whenever possible…

    The young lady in W. Va is being taken care of. They even dropped the hate crime charges (which were only punishable for up to 10 years) to charge them with greater crimes (punishable up to 75 years) which is wonderful. If nothing had been done or if they were treating her unfairly, then we would be there as well.

    I am saddened and disheartened to hear u making light of such a horrible injustice. Who would have thought in 2007 we would still be marching for equal rights? The white children and the black children did the same thing yet the white kids got a slap on the wrist and the black kids get to spend up to 22 years in prison? I don’t think so! U won’t do that to our babies!
    And just to see tens of thousands of people out there supporting our own was amazing! Kids we don’t even know!
    But like Dr. King said..”injustice anywhere…is a threat to justice everywhere”…and it could have been my boys…and that’s why I was there…
    but I’m curious…since you brought all this up, how many times have YOU visited Megan???

    Anonymous

    September 26, 2007 at 6:33 pm

  3. in re Anonymous,

    First off, thanks for your thoughts. Now for the fun stuff…

    I’m not making light of anything (the first draft of this had several snide remarks that I untimately pulled). My whole point is that we have a tendency to support issues where it is of benefit to us. And if we can’t see the benefit, then we don’t get involved. I guarantee you that if what happened to Megan happened in LA or NY, we’d be beat’n down the block like DJ Unk. Why? We have an infrastructure there; a support base there.

    I’m not going to visit Megan. There’s no need for me too, just like Jena ain’t.

    D.

    September 26, 2007 at 6:53 pm

  4. I’m trying to see how it was beneficial to anyone? One…the child is STILL being held hostage…because anytime your charges have been dropped and they still won’t let u go, you’re being held hostage.
    2) I took off work AND paid money to go. I missed one day…there were people who missed 3-7 days. There were people from other countries…
    One sign even read:
    Bus ticket ….150.00
    Missing 3 days from work….649.00
    Making sure our children have equal rights and justice….priceless…

    that warmed my heart…

    But back to you…what support base?
    When we were on our way, they told us the authorities had shut down the cell phone towers…we walked for miles and miles…we had to carry backpacks and coolers and chairs, etc…bc we were not allowed to spend a dime in that city…they made us sign papers saying we knew the danger of going…told us to stay in large groups so we wouldnt get snatched…didnt know if they would bring out the water hoses or dogs like they did in the ’60’s…

    but we went..and we repped strong….
    and I got back late Thursday night and went to work Friday morning and didnt sleep until Sunday evening…

    where is my profit, boo???
    How did I benefit?
    Who benefitted?

    Anonymous

    September 26, 2007 at 7:07 pm

  5. My understanding is that dude has priors. Hmmmmm…maybe that’s why he’s still there? Oh, wait….THAT part of the story isn’t being reported by “us.”

    The profit/benefit isn’t yours….activists roll in on an issue, yell themselves hoarse in support of/against it (whatever their stance may be), and all the while, their staffers are handing out material that says “if you support/don’t support this, join our cause to keep the fight going!!” Freedom ain’t free, and neither is “joining the cause”…you have to come out of pocket for that. And THAT’S where the profit/benefit goes.

    D.

    September 26, 2007 at 7:23 pm


Comments are closed.

