The Dillard Doctrine

Urban Conservative Commentary on Politics & Life

Equal Justice Under the Law?

(“Honor bound” to Jack and Jill Politics for putting me on to this one)

From Black America Web:

A bunch of white guys show up at your house after 11 p.m., cursing, calling your 20-year-old son the N-word and threatening to kill him. You take your .32 Beretta, go outside and order the mob off your property. Instead of leaving, one of the white guys slaps the gun in defiance. What do you do?

John H. White, a resident of Riverhead, N.Y., said he knew what he had to do. On Aug. 9, 2006, White found himself and his son Aaron faced with precisely the scenario described above. Daniel Cicciaro, 17 years old, was the white kid who slapped the gun in White’s hand. White shot Cicciaro in the face, fatally wounding him.


Three days before Christmas, a jury of 11 whites and one black in Suffolk County, N.Y., found White guilty of second-degree manslaughter.

Cue the Al Sharpton march (which, as expected,
is already being planned).

Now, before I’m accused of my typical “anti-black” bias….

I looked up manslaughter on a site that has the Texas penal code, and here’s what I got:

§ 19.04. MANSLAUGHTER. (a) A person commits an offense if he recklessly causes the death of an individual. (b) An offense under this section is a felony of the second degree.

Now, maybe I’m mistaken. But if you’re holding a gun, and someone slaps it out of your hand, and it goes off….it seems like you don’t have control of your weapon. Which speaks to a bit of recklessness. Either that, or you intentionally fired the gun, which speaks to a bit of murder.

But, of course, since the man who fired the gun was called the “n word,” that makes it okay to kill someone, right?

A flashback to the Jena Six (somehow, I knew I’d come back to this issue….): black kids disarm a white kid who points-and doesn’t fire-a gun at them. Said kids are charged with theft of a firearm, and the black community is pissed. Fast forward to this incident, where a black man SHOOTS a white kid for reaching for his gun. He’s found guilty, and the black community wants to mitigate someone death over the use of the “n word.”

We can’t have it both ways.

HB2DF,

-D.

(Note: was pointed out to me that I’m referencing another state’s penal code vice NY’s, where the crime was actually committed. They both read the same.)

Written by Coby Dillard

December 31, 2007 at 2:08 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Alisa…mphsdiva2@yahoo.com

    I’m sure this won’t get posted but here goes:

    No, I don’t believe he should have shot the boy..but if the boy was bad enough to slap a loaded gun he was holding, maybe the man felt his life was threatened…I dont know..I wasnt there and neither were u…
    It’s still funny that you never mention other stories like the white man who went out and shot two mexican men in the back killing them bc they were robbing his neighbor’s (not his) house. The 911 operator pleaded with him not to do it but he did anyway. That was pre-meditaed murder and he was not charged. So if you’re only going to use stories where your people (meaning whites) come out smelling like roses, don’t send me anything else to read or comment on…fair is fair…

    Anonymous

    December 31, 2007 at 4:10 pm

  2. Course you’ll get posted….

    I haven’t heard about that story, and I can’t write about what I haven’t heard about. If you’ve got a reference for that, pass it on. From what you’ve said, it does sound like murder (though maybe not premeditated)…and yeah, if the shooter wasn’t charged, that’s just as f’d up.

    And you’re right…I wasn’t there, so I don’t know the complete set of circumstances. Seems like only two people do, and one of them is dead.

    Here’s the thing about this one, though…I’m not arguing the racial issue. That’s not my beef. This isn’t about black or white…it’s about someone getting killed. I’d say the same thing if the kid in Jena had shot one of the black kids while they were reaching for his gun.

    At its most basic, it’s the rights of free speech and self defense: you have the right to call me a nigger, and I have the right to pull a gun on you to get you off my property. I don’t, however, have the right to shoot you.

    D.

    December 31, 2007 at 4:20 pm


Comments are closed.

