The Dillard Doctrine

Urban Conservative Commentary on Politics & Life

Words of Wisdom

Excerpts from Sen. John McCain’s victory speech after winning the primaries in New Hampshire last night:

“The work that awaits us in this hour on our watch, to defend our country from its enemies, to advance the ideals that are our greatest strengths, to increase the prosperity and opportunities of all Americans, and to make in our time, as each preceding American generation has, another better world than the one we inherited.”

“The work that we face in our time is great, but our opportunities greater still. In a time of war and the terrible sacrifices it entails, the promise of a better future is not always clear.

But I promise you, my friends, we face no enemy, no matter no cruel, and no challenge, no matter how daunting, greater than the courage, patriotism, and determination of Americans.

We are the makers of history, not its victims.

And as we confront this enemy, the people privileged to serve in public office should not evade our mutual responsibility to defeat them because we are more concerned with personal or partisan ambition. Whatever the differences between us, so much more should unite us, and nothing, and nothing should unite us more closely than the imperative of defeating an enemy who despises us, our values, and modernity itself.

We must all pull together, all pull together in this critical hour and proclaim that the history of the world will not be determined by this unpardonable foe, but by the aspirations, ideals, faith, and the courage of free people in this great, historic task, we will never surrender. They will. “

“I want to congratulate all the campaigns in both parties. I salute the supports of all the candidates who worked so hard to achieve a success tonight and who believe so passionately in the promise of their candidate.

And I want to assure them that though I did not have their support, and though we may disagree from time to time on how to best advance America’s interests and ideals, they have my genuine respect, for they have worked for a cause they believe, is good for the country we all love, a cause greater than their self-interest.

My friends, I learned long ago that serving only one’s self is a petty and unsatisfying ambition. But serve a cause greater than self- interest and you will know a happiness far more sublime than the fleeting pleasure of fame and fortune.

For me, that greater cause has always been my country, which I have served imperfectly for many years, but have loved without any reservation every day of my life.”

“America is our cause, yesterday, today, and tomorrow. Her greatness is our hope; her strength is our protection; her ideals our greatest treasure; her prosperity, the promise we keep to our children, her goodness, the hope of mankind.

That is the cause of our campaign and the platform of my party. And I will stay true to it, so help me God.”

The entire speech can be viewed here.

HB2DF,

-D.

Written by Coby Dillard

January 9, 2008 at 7:15 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

