The Dillard Doctrine

Urban Conservative Commentary on Politics & Life

A Declaration of Neutrality

Overheard the following while waiting to volunteer at a campaign office for a republican presidential candidate:

“I’ve got this black guy here, and I don’t know what to do with him.”
“Well, tell him to come back later; I’m sure he’s got nothing to do.”

Now, I’ve volunteered at this candidate’s office once before, and had an extremely positive experience. Which was what led me to go back out today.

Walked around, called some people, tried to justify it in my head. Couldn’t.

Thought of all the times I stood with the party, knowing I was the only black guy there, but not coloring those times with any racial undertones. Used that to try to rationalize what just happened. Didn’t work.

No matter how I look at it, that was fundamentally f’d up.

Now, I’m not telling this for any personal accolades, or to be a whistleblower of any sort. Not trying to pull that kind of attention.

But, damn, is this the type of world that we live in? Here I am thinking what I’m doing is actually making a difference, that by other African Americans seeing me, they’d want to at least consider certain issues a little differently. “Enlightenment,”
I called it: the ability to break out of groupthink and see things differently.

But something tells me, that at the end of the day, that’s all going to seem like BS. Kinda like it does now.

Does this make me any less conservative? Probably not. I still believe what I believe. And I’ll still stand up for said beliefs, just as anybody should.

But my world view has changed.

I didn’t want to be the poster child. Swore I wouldn’t be. Hell, swore I WASN’T.

Now, I’ve gotta see things for what they are, instead of what I need them to be. Racism and exclusionism-whether or not I want them to-still exist. And even though my bubble keeps me from seeing them as much as others, I can’t just pretend they don’t exist.

As far as the presidential race goes, color me neutral….least til I figure out what the next move is.

Written by Coby Dillard

January 12, 2008 at 4:44 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. No offense but I have little respect for modern dsy Blsck republicans.

    how many ways do they have to give you their ass to kiss before u get it?

    JJ

    January 14, 2008 at 3:14 pm

  2. JJ,
    None taken. 🙂

    I describe myself more as a “neoconservative independent” more than a Republican.

    And this is the first time something like this has overtly happened to me (though I now see all the instances where it was covertly done). My principles/beliefs are still the same…..just that now my eyes are a bit more open.

    D.

    January 14, 2008 at 3:17 pm

  3. I found you via a myspace blog.

    I must say I find the things you post about most interesting.

    What is neoconservative indepentant?

    interested reader

    January 16, 2008 at 6:26 pm

  4. In my way of thinking, a “neoconservative independant” is someone who isn’t registered as a republican, but who shares a lot of the ideals and beliefs valued by neoconservatives (who are very right wing).

    D.

    January 16, 2008 at 7:01 pm

  5. Thank you.

    interested reader

    January 16, 2008 at 10:24 pm

  6. No problem.

    And to whoever’s fronting me on myspace…thanks.

    D.

    January 16, 2008 at 11:41 pm


Comments are closed.

