The Dillard Doctrine

Urban Conservative Commentary on Politics & Life

A Vision of Hell: The South Carolina Primary

This Saturday, a referendum on African-Americanism is going to be held in South Carolina. By choice or against their will, black South Carolinians-by casting a vote for or against one Barack Hussein Obama-are going to offer a definition of what it means to be black not only in their state, but in the United States.

Does being black make you monolithic; does it require you to support a person or idea just by virtue of your skin color, without a thorough examination of it?

Or does not going along with the traditional “groupthink” make you less of an African American?

In his book The Race, author Richard North Patterson describes his fictional account of a presidential primary in South Carolina-with its racial politicking, dirty tricks, and fear mongering-as “a vision of hell.” A fitting description to this weekend’s event as well.

Think about it: by virtue of their numbers in the state electorate (close to 50%), blacks in South Carolina have the potential to do more to negatively impact the position of African Americans in this country. The potential for an internal civil war among blacks is high, should Obama lose in a state that could well spell out his destiny in the remainder of the campaign season. Worse, an Obama victory, coupled with his securing the democratic nomination later this year, could really set off a war between black conservatives (such as myself) and their liberal counterparts. The ensuing struggle could well turn off white voters-which statistically, Obama is not carrying as well as Clinton or Edwards-and lose him the election.

Which will put some African Americans in an untenable position. Would you want to be remembered as one of the ones who didn’t “wake up and get it?”

Personally, I never would have expected that the first viable black candidate for the presidential election could have the potential to be this divisive. I doubt that when Dr. King said he had been to the mountaintop, that this is what he saw as “the promised land.”

However, the lines have been drawn. I’ve taken my side. Others have taken theirs.

And come late Saturday evening, life as an African American is this country will never be the same.

HB2DF,

-D.

Written by Coby Dillard

January 18, 2008 at 1:54 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Why do you refer to yourself and the black people as African American.

    If you live in America and are an American citizen why can’t you just be American?

    I feel that it is this kind of thing that does not help race or crumb I forgot what it was I was thinking. Anyway issues.

    I realize that heratige is important. But if that is the case I would need to go around saying I am Scottish, Indian, and many others-American. As I am from all those decendant wise. I am a mutt. As I have ancesters from all over.

    My ancestors were not born in this country, I was though. I am an AMERICAN and nothing else.

    If you were not born an American citizen but have become one then you should claim American also. As you went through all the means to be come an American citizen.

    interested reader

    January 23, 2008 at 9:20 pm

  2. segregation was the word I waslooking for.

    It is stuff like that that helps continue with the race and segregation issues in this country.

    interested reader

    January 23, 2008 at 9:25 pm

  3. First and foremost, I am an American, and I do recognize that. For box-checking purposes, I identify as “black/African American.” Is there someone in my lineage that came from Africa? Maybe; haven’t (and honestly, probably won’t) taken the time to do the research to find out. I’m not militant about my racial identity, which is why I bounce between “black” and “African American.”

    Far as writing this piece, the issues raised really only affect those of us who have “origins in any of the racial groups of Africa” (definition of black/African American on a form I had to fill out for work).

    But you make a point. The hypenation of citizenship does contribute to a lot of racial issues in this country. We’re all mutts to an extent; and putting yourself in a box has contributed to a lot of problems in our society.

    Thanks for reading,

    -D.

    D.

    January 24, 2008 at 2:09 pm

  4. Ok. Thank you.

    I never heard anyone referred to as African American, Italian Ameerican, Mexican American, etc… Until after 9/11. Everyone was just American. Now we have all become -Americans.

    I knew there were black people, white people, indian people, chinese people, Etc… But I never really thought much of it. I am guessing that would be partly because the only time I ever saw anyone aside from white and indian was when I was in a big city. But seeing others always fascinated me. As it was a new thing to experience. I have noticed most all people will be nice if you are nice.

    I have never completely understood understood the whole race issue. I see people and if they give me a bad vibe white, indian, black, asian, mexican, etc… I try to steer clear. Cause it doesn’t matter what your race if you are bad you project it.

    Otherwise I try to give benefit of the doubt until you prove otherwise.

    Ok I think I rambled. I thank you for your time. Thank you for making me think too.

    interested reader

    January 24, 2008 at 5:02 pm


Comments are closed.

