The Dillard Doctrine

Urban Conservative Commentary on Politics & Life

In Case You Missed It….(which you probably did)

Seems like the junior Senator from Illinois may be considering handing the mantle of defeat in Iraq to someone else.

When asked on Nightline if he was committed to winning the war in Iraq,

Obama said, “I don’t think we have any choice. We have to win the broader war against terror that threatens America and its interests. I think that Iraq is one front on that war, but I think the central front is in Afghanistan and in the border regions of Pakistan.”

Well, well. It only took Obama his entire senate term to figure out that victory in Iraq was our only option.

Of course, he’s still blind to the finer points of reality:

Still, when asked if knowing what he knows now, he would support the surge, the senator said no.

“These kinds of hypotheticals are very difficult,” he said. “Hindsight is 20/20. But I think that what I am absolutely convinced of is, at that time, we had to change the political debate because the view of the Bush administration at that time was one that I just disagreed with, and one that I continue to disagree with — is to look narrowly at Iraq and not focus on these broader issues.”

Alright, everyone say it with me: THE SURGE WORKED. What’s it gonna take for Obama to say that? He should’ve taken a walk in Sadr City without body armor…something you couldn’t do before the surge.

Even most liberals admit that now. I’m sure the families of the 1,120 service members we’ve lost since the surge was announced in 2007 would love to know that the dhimmicratic nominee for president feels like their lives were wasted.

At least Obama now recognizes that surrender in Iraq isn’t an option. That, my friends, is change we can believe in.

HB2DF,

-D.

Written by Coby Dillard

July 23, 2008 at 9:49 am

