The Dillard Doctrine

Urban Conservative Commentary on Politics & Life

The Dillard Doctrine: A Political Philosophy

Had an interesting discussion on JJP yesterday, which lead to some people asking how I define myself as a conservative. Here’s my (complete) answer.

In terms of foreign policy, I am heavy handed. To pull from both Reagan and Bush’s doctrines, the best way to make peace is through showing strength; the best way to keep that peace is by preventing your strength from being challenged. That belief has served me well in my personal life as well.

I believe that we must use every tool in our arsenal to keep our country’s enemies from our shores. I support electronic screening of calls and other forms of communication that originate/terminate in this country, so long as that tool is not used illegally on our own citizens.

To quote a good friend, “I believe that no one owes me anything just because I live and breathe.”. I don’t support any system, program, or entitlement that gives preference to one over another. People should succeed-and experience failure-on their own.

I believe the government has provided me what they’re required to: protection of my life, liberty, and right to pursue happiness. They should provide nothing more.

On die-hard conservative issues, I do occasionally break. I think abortion is terrible, but understand and could support it under a very few circumstances (namely, rape and the inability to care for a child with extreme defects). I do not support it as a method of birth control.

I believe that parents know where their child can get the best education, and should be allowed to choose the best school for their child. I believe that our children should be taught in the language of our country-English-and that they should be taught the concepts of citizenship, patriotism, and service to country. I support testing in schools to ensure that they perform up to government standards, and support the firing of substandard teachers/school administrators if their schools fail to meet those standards.

Legal immigrants to our country provide a boost to our workforce, and bolster our economy as well as that of their home country. I do not support any sort of amnesty for those here illegally, nor do I support the practice of establishing “sanctuary cities” for illegal immigrants. Illegal immigrants who wish to gain legal status should be allowed to do so, but with severe penalities (partial payment of unpaid taxes, and an extension to the time on their citizenship process).

I believe in the individual right to bear arms for self-defense, in line with the restrictions placed on the mentally ill and felons that bar them from owning weapons.

I believe that our country is a Christian nation, as evidenced by the religion of its founders. While I respect the heritage, principles, and traditions of other religious, I do not believe that, as a Christian, I should have to subordinate my beliefs to that of anyone in the name of political correctness.  If there is space to mention God on our currency, then it is proper to acknowledge that our country was founded under Him.

I acknowledge some ignorance on economic issues. I believe in capitalism. I do not support wealth redistribution. The country’s tax system does need reform, but I’m not sure what is the best way to reform it.

Hope that answers the questions asked, and if not…..I’m certain there’ll be more discussion.

HB2DF,

-D.

Written by Coby Dillard

August 5, 2008 at 8:59 am

