The Dillard Doctrine

Urban Conservative Commentary on Politics & Life

An October Surprise (of sorts)

We take a break from the world of campaigning to bring you this story from the “WTF?” files:

From the Chicago Tribune:

Crystal Mangum, the woman who North Carolina prosecutors determined falsely accused three Duke lacrosse players of raping her at a team party, maintains in a new memoir that she was attacked.

Mangum appeared publicly Thursday for the first time since making the allegations more than two years ago, says in her forthcoming book she is not “looking forward to opening old wounds” but that she had to defend herself.

“Even as I try to move on with my life, I still find it necessary to take one more stand and fight,” she writes in the book, “The Last Dance for Grace: The Crystal Mangum Story.”

Warning: bad words follow.

Two words for Ms. Mangum: fuck you.

This woman has the nerve-after dragging 3 men, a prestigious university, a prosecutor, AND the city of Durham through the mud-to think she has the right to profit from lying?

Free Republic, mount up.

I remember watching the NCAA lacrosse championship game the year after this foolishness went down; Duke vs. Johns Hopkins. I remember rooting terribly for Duke to win, after what those guys went through the previous year. An entire season cancelled-for a bunch of bullshit.

And now, this woman continues to lie. Except now, she’s gonna make a profit from it. Doesn’t stripping pay more than writing? Stick to what you know, sweetheart.

Another quote from her, from the North Carolina News Network:

“Many people have tried to use my name and my past to intimidate me, to make me believe that I was a nobody.”

You became a nobody when you decided it was in your best interest to make up a story about the vilest of crimes. You remain a nobody because even after it all falls apart, you decide it’s in your best interest to profit from lying.

There is a special place in hell for you.

HB2DF,

-D.

Written by Coby Dillard

October 24, 2008 at 10:28 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think you take it a bit too far with the “stick to what you know” line.

    She was stripping to pay the bills and get through college so she wouldn’t have to do that for the rest of her life. In her case the “I’m working my way through college” was actually FACTUAL.

    I do not absolve her of the inconsistencies and dare I say flat out falsehoods she stated in regards to the case. You were right on JJP about her being disrespected … she was. However, in the adult entertainment industry it goes with the territory.

    I’d like to piggy-back off of the point I just made … about respect.

    When I was in college (albeit briefly) one of my classmates was a young woman who was working as an exotic dancer to pay her way through school. We befriended each other and started hanging out on the weekends … going to see plays and what not. I was surprised when she confessed this to me. Not even her family knew about what she was doing. She seemed very sweet and she was always very quiet in class. Sometimes I’d forget she was there.

    Anyway, when she started telling me about her experiences as a dancer. One episode she conveyed was about a group of men attending having a bachelor party at the club … she recalled one of the men yelling loudly and berating her … and I quote …

    “My girlfriend looks better than you … gee you have a big fucken nose.”

    She told him … well if your girlfriend’s so much better looking, why arent’ you at home with her?

    I asked her … “how do you deal with that shit … the disrespect?” She said that it’s hard, but she has a bigger goal and that’s what keeps her focused. The money … was insane too.

    I didn’t mean for this to be so long, but I wanted to be clear … this woman was trashed in the media and trashed by these men she was “performing for.”

    That doesn’t excuse a lie, but it does call for a real examination of how we treat each other and how we view women in that industry. They aren’t all drug addicts and amoral people.

    That’s all I’m going to say.

    D. In retrospect-and after what you said over at JJP, you’re right; that’s probably a bit extreme. I’m going to let it stand, though, only because I was (am?) that pissed off about it all. And I’m hearing what you’re saying about “they’re not all bad people,” and I don’t disagree…which is why I’m trying not to go down that road.

    noelani

    October 24, 2008 at 12:29 pm

  2. I was going to comment about the case but I have decided not to because you “D” are the most vilest person on the face of this earth. Dirty Nasty Pig!

    D. Proof that everyone who reads me, doesn’t agree with me.

    Justice58

    October 24, 2008 at 6:43 pm


Comments are closed.

