The Dillard Doctrine

Urban Conservative Commentary on Politics & Life

Rank, Privledge, and Everyone Else

Note: I have survived the recent outbreak of whatever the hell’s going around, though I’m still not feeling that great. Watch this damn weather…

Weighing in on something unrelated to the military, homeland security, or that vein…school choice.

I, for one, am a fan of being allowed to pick whatever school provides a reasonable chance for success for my child to attend. If it’s a private school, and I’m surrounded by bad public ones, I believe that the (local) government should subsidize me in some way (either a scholarship or some sort of tax break) for packing my child to a private school, since the responsibility for quality education falls on their shoulders.

The Democratic solution seems to be to throw more money at the teachers and schools.

Unless you just happen to be the President-elect of the United States.

In a city that has some of the nation’s worst public schools-not just in terms of education, but in material condition as well (I remember a few of them closing the winter of ’07 cause they didn’t have heat!), the Obamas have the choice in education that they don’t want to give to the rest of the country. Doesn’t that seem just a little bit hypocritical?

My suggestion: pack the Obama girls off to school in Southeast DC-not Navy Yard Southeast, across the river Southeast!-and let them go to school there. Put that Secret Service detail to good use.

And, while they’re there plodding along with the rest of the students, maybe the good president-elect can rethink how influential those teachers’ unions should’ve been to his campaign…

HB2DF,

-D.

Written by Coby Dillard

November 17, 2008 at 9:53 am

Posted in Editorials

Tagged with ,

