The Dillard Doctrine

Urban Conservative Commentary on Politics & Life

Setting the Stage for 2009

The end of 2008 is here, and I’m not sure what to say about it. I wrote a piece on my thoughts on the year, but then decided that through the blog I’ve said enough about the year that (soon will be) was.

So, this will take on a little of both: reflections and forward looking.

This time last year, I closed with some words from GEN Petraeus which I thought were reflective of both my personal and professional situations. Among them:

The way ahead will not be easy. Inevitably, there will be more tough days and tough weeks. Unforeseen challenges will emerge. And success will require continued hard work, commitment, and initiative from all involved. As we look to the future, however, we should remember how far we have come in the past year. Thus, as we enter a new year, we will have important accomplishments and a newfound sense of hope on which we can build.

 And the tough days and weeks-and months-came. But as I look back on the year that soon was, I can say that I came out of everything with a better sense of who I was, what I believed, and what I feel I should do with my life.

For the first time in the almost three years since taking off my uniform, I can say that I’m proud of everything that I was able to do in 2008. I’m even proud of the few adverse moments that came up, because of the lessons learned.

 

So, what will my this year look like?

In many respects, the words above will hold just as true-if not more so-in 2009 than in ’08. New responsibilities are coming, both personally and on a professional level…and with those will come new challenges, new battles, new successes and failures. As I said on my Facebook profile a couple weeks ago, what’s to come will be a lot worse than what’s been.

But I remain confident-somewhat-that at the end of the day, I’ll feel no worse about the new year than I did about the past one. The uncertainty, the “not knowing” of 2008 isn’t there anymore.  I face 2009 with a sort of sadistic excitement; knowing it will be difficult, but ready for the challenge.

Some changes around the blog: I’ll be posting (and commenting on other blogs) under my name. Makes my life easier, as a lot of the stuff I’ll write over the next year will be posted on my page over at the Republican Party of Virginia’s online network. Plus, I’ll be-at some point-expanding my doctrine to cover issues more in detail than what’s there now.

I can’t find an appropriate quote to close the year on; goes back to having said a lot about this one already. So, to end 2008, I offer advice from Robert Greene’s The 33 Strategies of War: amidst the turmoil of events, do not lose your presence of mind.

Bring on whatever’s next.

HB2DF,

-Coby 

 

Written by Coby Dillard

December 31, 2008 at 10:30 am

Posted in Editorials

