The Dillard Doctrine

Urban Conservative Commentary on Politics & Life

My Chairman is Black

(with apologies to Young Jeezy, Nas, and Jay-Z)

So, for the first time, the chairman of the RNC is…a black man. I’ve been bouncing off the walls all afternoon.

I feel a sense of validation now. It’s almost like, in a single stroke, the work of most black conservatives-at least those who aren’t into playing into a stereotype-is valid. All we’ve wanted is a seat at the table, and not to have to relegate ourselves to “second-class” status to get it. Well, now we have THE seat at the table…something I thought less likely than seeing a black man become president.

As I said over on JJP, I can actually join the Republican Party now. Because now I feel that my efforts will be taken a lot more seriously than they could have been under different leadership. A lot of the same thoughts I’ve had about how the GOP should proceed with righting (no pun intended) itself are ones that I’ve also heard from Steele.

So, now we’re going to reach out to the rest of our community-something we should’ve been doing for a while!!-and begin to work there. That’s the best thing about Steele’s chairmanship. We’re going to actually do, instead of just talk.

Now, for the not-so-great statement.

We’re fools in the GOP if we think electing a black chairman undoes all the past sins of the GOP. Not hardly; I’ve already heard the “token negro” charge being leveled. It is, however, a step towards the reconciliation that needs to take place if the black community and the GOP are going to rebuild their historical relationship. While we can-and should-hold up the Steele chairmanship as an effort to move towards a more inclusive party, by no means should we make him into the “token negro” he’s already expected to be. That’s a line we’ll have to learn to walk: how to celebrate our progress without thinking that we’re suddenly the hood’s best friends. Long way to go for that.

With that said, we’ve got something to celebrate tonight. And tomorrow, we’re moving forward.

Finally.

HB2DF,

-Coby

Written by Coby Dillard

January 30, 2009 at 10:52 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. D: I support your happiness and enthusiasm!

    BUT, why would I support Mr. Steele when we are IDEOLOGICAL OPPOSITES??

    Does he believe that a “party of the upper class” would embrace people that are of a SES that is NOT wealthy?

    There is NOT evidence, that I’m aware of, that would suggest that they have in the past.

    Annnnnd, the “WHITE SEA” this summer was abundantly clear in its message: We don’t want your kind!

    Sooo, what are his plans?

    Coby: I don’t expect you to outright support him…

    …but I will ask-as I have before-for the benefit of the doubt.

    Steele’s chairmanship doesn’t automatically cure all the GOP’s ills, and I recognize that. There’s still a lot of work to be done.

    The plan, for now, is just getting out there. We’ve neglected minority communities in the past (haven’t campaigned there, haven’t worked there), so the first thing we need to do is get in these communities and start talking/listening to people.

    GreenLadyHere

    January 31, 2009 at 2:53 am

  2. The point you make is clear, but I disagree a little bit. I think this is just part of the RNC’s game. They’re trying to get back in there and be successful again, and they’ll do anything to do it. Even elect a Black man that they never would’ve elected before. I find this to be total capitalization.

    http://www.truthinthelies.wordpress.com

    Coby: I don’t think-with the exception of J.C. Watts-there’s been anyone outside of Steele or Blackwell that would’ve been viable. What you’re going to begin to see now are a lot of black conservatives/Republicans coming out and getting involved in the process, instead of just waiting to be called for the token show of support.

    House

    January 31, 2009 at 5:25 am

  3. I actually feel slightly sorry for Mr. Steele because I am quite sure that he knows if President Obama wasn’t in office he wouldn’t be leader of the GOP. He also has accrued a party who is known to be heavy supporter of the wealthy. In economic times such as these having the aura of class superiority is not popular at all unless of course you are already rich. I think in the meantime I will monitor the GOP engagements in all minority/social class communities. If I see some type of real differences towards issues that MINORITIES & NON-WEALTHY people care about then I’ll waiver on some of my reservations about the GOP. However, for right now I’ll remain a happy independent.

    tmj4477

    February 25, 2009 at 9:13 am


Comments are closed.

