The Dillard Doctrine

Urban Conservative Commentary on Politics & Life

T.I’s Message to the GOP

(My more conservative friends won’t like this.)

I don’t listen to a lot of rap anymore…just kinda grown out of it as I’m getting older. But one of my favorite songs right now is T.I’s Live Your Life.

I’ve become the type of person who looks for the political in everything I see, say, do; lot of my friends and family can’t stand it. There’s some movies and shows that I loved as a kid that I can’t watch today without getting upset. So, in keeping with that odd habit, I think T.I.’s got a message to the GOP and the conservative movement in general, wrapped up in one particular verse of this song. Walk with me…

Your values is in disarray, prioritizin’ horribly;

Unhappy with your riches ’cause you’re piss poor morally

Ignorin’ all prior advice and forewarnin’;

And we mighty full of ourselves all of a sudden, aren’t we?

Of late (and by that, I mean the last 10 years or so), the GOP’s been hit with a lot of scandals. Between Mark Foley, Larry Craig, and Ted Haggard (whose movie I watched on HBO a couple nights ago), most of the scandals have had something to do with something most would find morally-at best-questionable.  On top of all that, throw in people like Jack Abramahoff., and you can see why some people would consider the GOP a “party of corruption.”

Disclaimer: you can make the same argument for the Democrats as well. I’m not one of them, so I leave that to someone else.

And what have we done with ourselves since all of these scandals broke? Watched our numbers in DC get smaller and smaller…and, lately, hype Sarah Palin as our presidential nominee in 2012. Hype her to the fact that, in my opinion, we’re forgetting all about next year’s midterm elections and trying to groom candidates for those. We may pay dearly for that next year.

One bright spot: last week the House Republicans took a stand against a stimulus bill (that doesn’t really stimulate) and voted against it. All of them. Good for them; I was happy as well, thinking “the GOP is back!!” Couple that with the election of Michael Steele as RNC chairman, and last week there was an actual reason to be a proud Republican.

But then I got to thinking, “now what?” Yeah, there was a moment where we could all stick our chests out and walk around on top of the world. But that’s past. And you could argue with everything that’s gone on with the GOP-“the hootin and the hollerin; back and forth with the arguin'” over where we should go and how to move forward-that there’s no reason for us to be as excited as we are.

At least, that’s what I get from the song.

HB2DF,

-Coby

Written by Coby Dillard

February 5, 2009 at 10:55 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.


Comments are closed.

