The Dillard Doctrine

Urban Conservative Commentary on Politics & Life

In 30 Seconds….

Comments on everything I would have written about over the past week, if I wasn’t up to my eyeballs in Tea Party stuff:

1. There’s no way you can convince me that veterans should have to pay for their healthcare (outside of elective procedures). Stupidest idea I’ve ever heard, and it’s made more so by another veteran (VA Secretary GEN Eric Shinseki) suggesting it. If this were Pres. Obama’s idea, it would be a teaching point for him…but a general officer? Nope, no excuse. Just because you have a triple digit salary and can pay for yours, doesn’t mean that everyone has those means.

2.  Michael Steele’s right: abortion is a choice. In that you have to make a decision to have one or not. Whether it’s a choice you agree with-and I don’t-is a matter of opinion, but at it’s most basic, that’s what it is.

3. Couple weeks ago on JJP, I commented on defense programs that I thought would get cut/rolled back under the Obama Administration (the ones I mentioned were the Navy’s Littoral Combat Ship, the Army’s Future Combat Systems program, the Air Force’s F-22, and the Joint Stirke Fighter Program). And then….there was this in the Boston Globe. Proof that I’m-occasionally-not just shooting off at the mouth. For the record, as uncomfortable and expensive as it is, cutting defense spending in the middle of a recession-and the jobs that come along with that-is not smart.

That was a lot more than 30 seconds. Oh, well…

HB2DF,

-Coby

Written by Coby Dillard

March 18, 2009 at 10:18 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice job Dill.

    THE,
    R

    render64

    March 18, 2009 at 11:46 am


Comments are closed.

