The Dillard Doctrine

Urban Conservative Commentary on Politics & Life

I’m Feeling Racist Today…

…because I need to say something to my conservative friends who are not of color. People don’t like it when I single out a specific group based on race, but today I feel I have to.
 
So, through various accounts, I managed to put together the story of a somewhat-conservative radio host-Tammy Bruce-supposedly (and I use that word for a reason; we’ll get to that) saying this about the Obamas:
 
“That’s what he’s (Barack)married to,” Bruce said. “…You know what we’ve got? We’ve got trash in the White House. Trash is a thing that is colorblind, it can cross all eco-socionomic…categories. You can work on Wall Street, or you can work at the Wal-Mart. Trash, are people who use other people to get things, who patronize others, who consider you bitter and clingy…”
 
Now, I say supposedly because the only people reporting this are the few left-leaning blogs I read. I don’t listen to Bruce, never heard of her (seen her name go across Twitter a few times), so I don’t know if this is more false outrage or if it really happened.
 
That, though, doesn’t take away from my point, which is this:
 
I’ve said before that it’s okay for us on the right to go after President Obama in terms of policy, but to attack him on the trivial isn’t helpful (though it does, on occasion, make for a funny story). And by admission, I’ve engaged in both serious attacks and trivial ones.
 
What’s NOT appropriate, in any way, shape, or form, is outright disrespect. Unfortunately, that’s where I see some of the Obama criticism trending, and I’m not liking it.
 
We as black conservatives/Republicans let people get away with stuff that we shouldn’t have. Like calling Michelle Barack’s “baby mama.” Or letting McCain refer to Barack as “that one” (ok, that didn’t fly with me; McCain almost lost my vote over that). That’s our fault, and we’ll deal with that amongst ourselves.
 
But you’re slowly walking up to a line that you shouldn’t-really, can’t-cross, and if you do, it’s gonna be really hard for some of us to defend you.
 
Correction: it might be impossible for some of us to defend you.
 
Here’s the thing: we as conservatives/Republicans of color understand what Obama’s election means (well, some of us do). We may disagree with his policies and plans as strongly as you do, but we keep-in the back of our minds-the fact that the Obama ascendancy means something. Not just for us, but for America and how far we’ve come, collectively.
 
Now, I know this doesn’t apply to a lot of the people I call friends. And that’s cool; love you all. There’s some bad apples amongst the bunch, and it’s easier to just address the bunch.
 
We’ve all got to step back from the cliff. Cause if we fall over, we’re dead.
 
Just because Obama’s predecessor was disrespected by the left doesn’t mean we have to engage in it too.
 
We’re supposed to be better than them, remember?
 
HB2DF,
-Coby

Written by Coby Dillard

March 24, 2009 at 9:48 am

