The Dillard Doctrine

Urban Conservative Commentary on Politics & Life

Questions….and Answers

Some questions-and my thoughts-from the (mostly) good people over at JJP:

Here’s another question for D unrelated to the tea parties – sorry, The conservatives I know personally are some white folks from high school. One complained about going to work to pay for an Obama supporter’s 12 kids. So he has absolutely no credibility with me. Here’s the question – how do black conservatives feel about race? Not policy wise, but, ie, Rush Limbaugh. How do black conservatives feel about him and his rhetoric? Were they glad Steele apologized or pissed? Cause Ron Christie is clearly an enabler of racism. So, my question is how do black conservatives feel about the undercurrent of racism in the Republican party?

First off, any black conservative/Republican who says there’s not an undercurrent of racism in the GOP is lying. Because there is, and it’s become part of the modern GOP’s history. Inside the GOP, I think we’re viewed as a monolith that brings nothing of political value (i.e., money) to the table and isn’t a terribly reliable voting block.

I think being a part of that demographic requires you to draw a line on what you consider flat-out racist and what you can/will tolerate. The thing is that once you draw that line, you have to stick to it.

My personal on Rush, Glenn (who I do occasionally listen to), Malkin et al., is that they’re providing an entertaining view on their political philosophy. So in that, they’re no different from Howard Stern, with the exception that they occasionally-or maybe better said, rarely-make a vaild point. Do they cross the line? At times, and often, the first time I hear about it is from a blog like JJP.

When that line is crossed-and for every person, it’s different-then you have to stand up and say something. What happens when you do that, though, is you’re either labeled a troublemaker, a whiner, or told to lighten up; that it’s just commentary. And it may just be commentary or satire…but for us, it’s a little different. Because for the few of us actively working to sell the GOP to blacks and other minorities, when we take the party’s message to those communities, that “commentary” or “satire” is often the first thing mentioned as a reason not to support the GOP. Those charges are almost impossible to argue against.

How do I deal with it? I’ve learned that, regardless of whatever consequences, when I feel something’s inappropriate, I should say something (full disclosure: I haven’t always done that). At the same time, I realize that there’s some elements that I have to work with to accomplish an end goal, simply because they have resources that I currently don’t. So there is a certain tolerance-or a tacit acceptance-of statements and goings-on that I’m not sure I’d be as tolerant of under differen cirumstances.

And I work-albeit quietly-to show that the undercurrent isn’t as deep now as people make it out to be. That’s done by associating with people who don’t wear their feelings of racism on their sleeve, and by trying to educate elements of the GOP on what they can and can’t (should/shouldn’t?) say. Because even if it doesn’t offend me personally, if others are complaining, it’s a problem.

I would appreciate if someone would provide an explanation to state what exactly the republican administration provides that you would identify yourself in the similar role and support that group. If you are open to sharing this with me, will you break it down even further and not only list 3 reasons for supporting the Republican party (PROS) but cite 3 reasons that causes you to pause (CONS).

For me, my foremost reason for supporting the GOP is their stance on national security and defense. In my lifetime-and I’m throwing out Reagan and Bush 43-the Republicans have shown themselves to be the stronger, more proactive party on these issues. Beyond that…there’s not a lot else. I’m supportive of some of their social stances, but not agressively so.

Reasons not to support them….first would be their history, which shows them going from a party that advocated inclusion to one that plays to an increasingly small base.  A second would be because their candidates and leaders don’t always live up to the values and principles they preach so heavily.

HB2DF,

-Coby

Written by Coby Dillard

April 16, 2009 at 1:51 pm

