The Dillard Doctrine

Urban Conservative Commentary on Politics & Life

Iron Mike

Damn. Really, that’s all that needs to be said.

You couldn’t have been born in my generation and not be touched by Michael Jackson’s music. Most of the items today that are iconic to the 80’s-MTV, for one-were made by MJ. He was one of those rare artists whose not-so-great albums could still sell platinum. Who can you say that about today?

Next to Earth, Wind and Fire, MJ’s music is-and I’m certain will remain-one of the great influences on marching bands worldwide, especially those at HBCUs. My first field show in ’98 at Elizabeth City State was MJ-themed: “Thriller,” “PYT,” and “The Lady in My Life.” And I’m not gonna even try to count the number of bands I’ve seen perform “Rock With You,” Smooth Criminal,” “Jam”…hell, is there a MJ song that hasn’t been played on the field?

I don’t think there’s a genre of music that MJ hasn’t touched, including gospel. One of the craziest things I remember hearing in church was “Remember the Time,” and later, hearing a group perfrom it with different lyrics. That’s a lot more common now, but-at least for my life-that trend started with MJ.

MJ was more than an icon…for a while, he was music. No one else could-can!!-touch him.

My friend Rikyrah over at JJP said it best-“honor the talent. We know all too well about the demons.” And that’s true; Michael had his-well documented and publicized-issues. But I’ll take it a step further:

For those who singular focus is using MJ’s death as a point to bring up his troubled past, or to suggest that President Obama had him killed as some sort of plot to advance some aspect of his agenda, please….do me a favor, and shut the hell up. Dislike him if you will, but show some respect in death. As another friend said on email, “the God who is good will judge him.” That task isn’t left to us anymore.

There’s a lesson in Jackson’s death, especially for those in my generation. Rather, there’s a lesson reinforced; life is too short. I always figured I’d live to see him die, but not when I was still relatively young myself. That’s scary.

RIP, Smooth Criminal…and thank you.

HB2DF,

-Coby

Written by Coby Dillard

June 26, 2009 at 7:31 am

Posted in Editorials

Tagged with

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That was beautiful D.

    R.I.P. MJ- The Gloved One

    carolinagirl

    June 26, 2009 at 10:06 am

  2. Thanks D.

    I still can’t believe it, it’s unreal.

    We all know about his demons; they were evident, but his genius cannot be denied.

    rikyrah

    June 26, 2009 at 10:32 am

  3. Great tribute. Thanks.

    MsKitty

    June 26, 2009 at 5:07 pm

  4. What’s On Bookeristas’ Minds?…

    Coby Dillard, a black conservative Republican blogger in Norfolk, Virginia, writes: “You couldn’t have been born in my generation and not be touched by Michael Jackson’s music. Most of the items today that are iconic to the 80’s – MTV, for one – were….

    Booker Rising

    June 26, 2009 at 10:39 pm

  5. Well said Dillard, I think at a minimum the fact that this man was someone’s father, son, and brother should be respected.

    I hope he finally has the peace he so desperately needed.

    Gone too soon…love you Mike!

    Tessjackson

    July 8, 2009 at 7:50 am


Comments are closed.

