The Dillard Doctrine

Urban Conservative Commentary on Politics & Life

On Being a Black Republican

“My community I’m serving, though they hope I don’t succeed…” T.I., “Ain’t I”

So, today over on my favorite progressive blog (yes, I have one…and not for opposition research purposes!), there’s a post entitled “Oh, to be Black and In The GOP.” Some excerpts:

It must really suck to be an African-American in the GOP these days.

Not because of your values or beliefs or core ideology.

Maybe because as each day passes, you are continually being confronted with the fact that despite your best efforts, you can’t escape the fact that there are some die-hard bigots in your political party – the one that claims to be the party of Abe Lincoln, who’s claim to fame is the Emancipation Proclaimation freeing the slaves.

What is must be to be Black and in the GOP.  Tell us what else you have in store to “Woo” us to your party.  Even though the Democrats continue to piss us off, at least we get to break out cans of Whip-Ass when they act like they’re going to lose their doggone minds.

What do you guys do when you have to contend with someone like Jeff Sessions, or Rush Limbaugh, who really is the Head of Your Political Party these days?

As JJP’s occasional resident conservative (when work allows, hence the neglect of my blog as well), I’ll attempt to answer.

It doesn’t suck. It’s difficult at times, but rare are the occasions when I say that I wish I wasn’t a Republican. So what makes it difficult, and what do I-we-do about it?

Black conservatives/Republicans (I count myself more the former than the latter; all conservatives aren’t Republican and all Republicans ain’t conservative) have the distinct pleasure of having to fight two battles at the same time.

The first is what the authors suggested: an institutional racism that does run deep within the modern-day (post, oh, 1964 or so) GOP (and for those of my colleagues who’d say no such thing against, I’ve seen it too many times). For every “Barack the Magic Negro” moment that makes it into the public eye, there’s several similar instances that don’t. And yeah, those things are hard-in some cases, damn near impossible-to defend.

But we do it. Why? For different reasons. For me, one of them is that I recognize numbers aren’t on my side. So if I’m truly concerned about pushing conservatives values, that requires me to stand with people/groups that do/say things I don’t always agree with or that I think cross the line. That princple has allowed me to stand with members of Free Republic in support of the War on Terror, while having to blast them last week for going a lot overboard in their “criticism” of Malia Obama. Crazies-and they’re everywhere-aren’t reflective of the whole, until they make up the majority of the whole. At that point, yeah, the hammer gets lowered…as well it should. But even those battles are strategically picked.

The second fight we have is summed up in the quote by T.I. For the most part, we have to fight within our own communities for respect and to just be heard out.  Again, for a variety of reasons…what we believe, why we believe it, and yes, what of the people we run with. It is a constant struggle for me, as a campaign staffer, to walk into a particularly hostile event (as I had the opportunity to do last month), get hammered, and wake up the next morning and do it all over again. Now, I’m a kinda confrontational person…but for some, those kind of mental beatdowns wear on you after a while, and people get discouraged and walk away.

People say we do it for the money, that being a “shrill” for the GOP must pay well. It doesn’t…trust me. Especially not with two mouths to feed (one of which is still sucking down formula). I was doing much better as a civil servant, and a HELL of a lot better as a government contractor. So why am I doing this? Because I have no problem working to see those who believe as I do get elected to office-unless or until they do something that’s so egregariously wrong that I can’t defend them anymore. So that’s the standard.

The final question: what do we as black conservatives/Republicans do to counter the stem of-um, foolishness-that seems to be running rampant in our party, while continuing to spread our message to our communities?

Answer’s simple: wage unlimited, unrestricted warfare against both the internal and external elements that seek to, either overtly or covertly, undermine our actions. Black conservatives/Republicans have to be prepared to keep up the fight in the face of everyone-the GOP’s racists and those back home who don’t want to give us time or day. When the doors are slammed and the insults hurled in the streets, we’ve got to be ready to go right back to those who slam or hurl the next day, and do so smiling. Also, we’ve got to be prepared to call out the fools whose words and/or actions run counter to ours…and do so publicly, regardless of the slammed doors and hurled insults from our own side.

We didn’t ask for this battle…but we’ve got to fight it.

And win it.

Failure-for our sake and that of our communities-is not an option.

HB2DF,

-Coby

Written by Coby Dillard

July 17, 2009 at 6:05 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Coby, I have a similar situation: I am a Christian pro-life activist working in academia. Lots of gossip behind the back but no talk to my face. But I am good at my work teaching, so that is what really matters.

    Hang in there!!

    John Richardson

    July 17, 2009 at 6:21 pm

  2. Great post but I am amazed that some people think that racism only exists within the ranks of Republicans/Conservatives. From what I have observed in my 60 years racism transcends race,sex, religion and political affiliation.

    michael tefft

    July 17, 2009 at 6:50 pm

  3. Like I told someone else today, it’s the easiest card in the deck to pull….requires no thought or real analysis of facts.

    Coby Dillard

    July 17, 2009 at 7:08 pm

  4. Coby, you are correct. It is a stereotype, which is a replacement for facts and real thinking.

    John Richardson

    July 17, 2009 at 7:13 pm

  5. What about acknowledging the fact that the Democrats are ruining your people. In IL, over the 4th of July weekend, there was 63, yes, SIXTY-THREE shootings on the South side of Chicago. The dominantly black neighborhoods. This is a city that WHITE DEMOCRATIC politicians have strict gun laws, yet the blacks keep getting killed. Tell me that if there was 63 shootings in the upper side of Chicago that those white, rich men wouldn’t be screaming “I’m protecting myself!” and those gun laws would be gone! They don’t care about the strict gun laws and the black mortality rate related to those laws – because it doesn’t touch them!

    Second, as one youtube video claimed – have you ever seen a person get rich off of welfare? The black communities that I live near will rarely get out of this situation because they continue to vote Democrat and look for their next handout. It’s a debilitating mindset!

    Finally, have you read about the reason that Margaret Sanger started Planned Parenthood? It was to rid society of the underpriviledged! Who do you think she was talking about? Here’s some data:

    Black and Hispanic women together make up more than half (52%) of women having abortions. This proportion is greater than their proportion in the population because they have a higher rate of unintended pregnancy, and, among black women, because they are more likely to resolve an unintended pregnancy through abortion.

    The Democrats are actually HURTING them while they are being told that they are helping them! That alone would make me want to be ANYTHING but a Democrat!

    I hope that I was not offensive in anything that I said, but it makes me crazy when the govt feeds us line of bull and we swallow it, hook, line and sinker.

    I have the utmost respect for the individuals who are aware enough to see the trap and choose otherwise. Thank you for what you are doing!

    Kelly

    July 17, 2009 at 7:59 pm

  6. Not offensive at all…nor are you wrong.

    The problem is, though, that things like the “Barack the Magic Negro” episode cause us to lose the “historical” argument. Why? Because not enough people know the things you mentioned…and the GOP’s not-so-smart moments are more recent history (and are usually sent viral online).

    And, truth be told…the argument over who’s been more racist is pointless, as both parties have been somewhat suspect in dealing with minorities. The modern GOP isn’t the “party of Lincoln,” and-acknowledging the truth-the actual Republican Party of Lincoln grew into the Progressives, which have more in common with the Democrats of today.

    We’ve got to win on ideas alone. And we can do that, when we put them forth.

    Coby Dillard

    July 17, 2009 at 8:13 pm

  7. I’m a white conservative Republican, and I’m glad you are doing what you are doing. All races will suffer equally if Obama and the Democratic congress are able to keep pushing their programs through. Some people actually believe they will get FREE health care and all those bad rich guys will pay for it. Even those of us on Medicare have to pay for our health care — it comes out of our Social Security payments and what they don’t pay, we pay from our pockets. Doctors will be paid even less than they get now — not just for Medicare and Medical patients (which some won’t take anymore because the government pays them so little for them)but for everyone. Who will want to pay for all those years of schooling when they will no longer get a return on that investment? Will the brightest and best stay in the profession? If they no longer want to become doctors, maybe our doctors will no longer be the brightest and best, and will instead be mediocre.

    I see a time coming when we will be like the Soviet Union, where the government paid for higher education and then gave it to those they selected.

    My husband was born in Serbia during WWII and was in Communist prison at the age of nine because his parents would not be ambassadors for Tito when asked. They finally were able to escape to Canada and then enter the USA under the Canadian quota. Under the Communist government in the former Yugoslavia, and maybe still today, Christians were not allowed to go into science or technical fields because they wanted all scientists to agree on atheism. His aunt was a dentist in Croatia before Yugolavia broke up, and she wasn’t supposed to treat nuns.

    Once the government controls everything, not only will everyone — except the government leaders — be equally poor, but opportunities for those of any race will be limited. Medical care will be rationed, as it was in Yugoslavia, where my husband’s uncle had to have surgery without anesthesia. We had to send vitamins and prescriptions drugs to his relatives in Croatia because they couldn’t get them. Yet health care was “free.”

    I feel like I’m on a train headed for a cliff and don’t see any way of stopping it because people just can’t see the truth. What can we do about getting these Congressman out of office — white and black who are dooming this country and destroying not only the economy, but also our liberty. Some of the worst are from my home state of California — our two senators, the Speaker of the House, and Henry Waxman, all of whom are white. I often wonder if these people know they are destroying America and have been working actively towards that goal for a long time and now finally have the votes they need to pull it off, or whether they are just too stupid to see it and are dupes. Keep up your good work. If we are going to stop this out-of-control train we are on, all races will have to work together for the common good. And if we don’t do it in 2010, we may not have another chance.

    Barbara Radisavljevic

    July 18, 2009 at 2:04 am

  8. Permission Granted…

    Whoa, I like to greet the sun each mornin’ And walk amongst the stars at night I’d like to know the taste of honey in my life In my life Well, I’ve shared so many pains And I played so……

    Cobb

    July 19, 2009 at 4:16 pm

  9. Interesting post…I wholeheartedly believe there are racists and bigots on both sides of the party and I really don’t hold a lot of respect for either side. However, I would like to see a little more backbone from Michael Steele or at least a public protest from prominent “minority” leaders in the GOP. Since I’ve personally never heard or seen anyone consistently in the Democratic party or ever in the GOP take a stand or speak on African American issues why should I believe these parties still aren’t bigoted? For instance the Huntington Valley Swim Club incident in Philadelphia, the Director John Duesler the guy who kicked the kids out is a Democrat. Quickly Democrats rebounded when Congresswoman Allyson Y. Schwartz has already stated she will not tolerate racist actions in her district and the situation will receive an investigation. This was an opportunity for the GOP in that state to show they give a rats azz about minorities and they missed the boat.

    Tessjackson

    July 23, 2009 at 4:01 pm


Comments are closed.

