The Dillard Doctrine

Urban Conservative Commentary on Politics & Life

If You Don’t Have Something Smart to Say…

The second Republican to be featured in this series is…Rep. Lynn Jenkins of Kansas:

In case you missed it:

“Republicans are struggling right now to find the great white hope,” Jenkins said to the crowd. “I suggest to any of you who are concerned about that, who are Republican, there are some great young Republican minds in Washington.”

Um…..”great white hope?”

Even if that’s not what she meant, it sounds awful and reads worseFive seconds of thinking may have the triggered the thought, “if I say this, will someone take it out of context?” Five more seconds would have answered that question with a resounding “yes!” And five more seconds would’ve lead to the conclusion “then don’t say it!!”

Come on, people…think. I know it’s one of those statements that’s thrown around regularly…but when you’re part of a political party that has only a few (in comparison to the country’s population) people of any color who are elected officials or are willing to step out and represent you, is that really the best statement to make?

HB2DF,

-Coby

Written by Coby Dillard

August 27, 2009 at 8:53 am

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. D, you know we agree on a few things(there goes my liberal card)and disagree on a lot of things,but what she said was honest.Even Pat Buchanan said the way for your party to succeed is to appeal to white nationalism.And thats why your party will get kick into the garbage can.

    dj chevron

    August 27, 2009 at 10:37 am

  2. Conservativism, real conservatism, is colorblind.

    I am not saying that all people who self-identify as conservatives are colorblind (they certainly are not), or even that I am–only that…well, exactly what I said.

    It was a dumbass comment, just like the “appeal to white nationalism” comment above, which is a complete non sequitar.

    I, for one, value, appreciate and lift up conservatives who don’t fit the ethnic, racial, religious, or sexual-orientation stereotype that might come mind when we think “conservative.” I don’t think I’m that unusual, but of course there are always Leftists around to tell me (1) I am wrong, and (2) I’m racist because I loathe the ideology of the current President.

    It was a dumbass comment. There’s a lot of politicians making dumbass comments lately: “typical white people,” for instance.

    Thomas Sowell runs for President, I’m going door to door. That simple.

    I am frankly tired unto death of the subject of race, it goes nowhere and leads to nothing. I know, I’m white, easy for me to say. But it is such a gigantic time-and-energy-sucking waste of time, and it ALWAYS works to the Dems’ advantage.

    Regards.

    ConservativeLA

    August 27, 2009 at 10:06 pm

  3. Cuz the other thread got hijacked:

    Ditto on chevron’s comments, except that I would throw Lee Atwater in there. One day you gotta explain to me how you reconcile yourself with a party that continues to follow the strategy of white nationalist, soft racism that he pioneered. I really am curious.

    Aaron

    August 28, 2009 at 2:24 pm

  4. Personally, I’m tired of it too. It’s the card that’s the easiest to play since it requires no thought.

    The drawback for me, though, is when I’m out working with a candidate, it’s not the local issues of the day that come up. It’s “are you the great white hope? Do you agree with that?” Unfortunate reality and a major distraction…but a reality nonetheless.

    Coby Dillard

    August 28, 2009 at 2:42 pm

  5. Call me (number’s on FB) and we’ll talk…..would be good to catch up anyway.

    Coby Dillard

    August 28, 2009 at 2:48 pm

  6. I only know Sowell’s prison policy and his statements on race. But they’re bad enough. Suffice it to say, I will be forced to do something drastic if the man ever wins public office.

    Aaron

    August 29, 2009 at 5:51 am

  7. I only know Sowell's prison policy and his statements on race. But they're bad enough. Suffice it to say, I will be forced to do something drastic if the man ever wins public office.;…

    Aker

    September 3, 2009 at 11:11 pm


Comments are closed.

