The Dillard Doctrine

Urban Conservative Commentary on Politics & Life

The Doctrine, Reloaded

Boy, if that doesn’t describe my life over the last few months-figuratively, of course.

So, after a campaign that may or may not have been meant to be (maybe “may or may not should’ve been in the first place” is a more accurate assessment), the lights come back on here at The Dillard Doctrine.

First off, I’ll answer the question-and this is the first and last time I’ll answer it (and if you have to ask what the question is, well…not sure what to say).

I ended my congressional campaign for a variety of reasons, many of which are personal and will remain so (no, I did not pull a John Edwards). One of the bigger reasons was a desire to finish my education. I’m fairly intelligent-at least I think so-but to be in the business of politics, you do need something that affirms that you can do the things you say you can do. I’ve been trying to get my degree since I left the Navy, and now that I’ve found where I want to be professionally, it’s time to do the things to bring about my success.

There were other reasons, all of which led me to the same conclusion-I’m better helping others get elected than I am being a candidate, at least for the time being. And I’m fine with that.  If I can bring about change by finding those people who believe and want the same things I do, then my mission’s accomplished at the end of the day. So, along with finishing my education, I’m focusing more on the business side of politics (need a consultant? I’m your man!)

Even while doing these things, I have no intention of keeping quiet. Hence, the return here-my original soapbox, where things really began for me. And it’s through here that I’ll continue to do the things that’s most important to me: work to apply conservative solutions to the problems facing the black community, and show the Republican Party-and specifically, the Virginia GOP-that the black community is worth reaching out to, working with, and fighting for come election time. The good news is that I’m less alone than I felt; you can check my blogroll for other black conservatives across Virginia (and the nation) who are getting their voices out there as well.  Support us all, because being in our position is harder than most will ever know or be able to understand.

I’ll also open up a bit more about my personal life, and talk about how my family and political life mix. Trust me, the dynamic is weird, to say the least-especially with a spouse whose love for things political is miniscule (which I think is great, as long as she continues to tolerate my occasional rant).

This is the right spot for me. The fight for the things I hold dear continues, and I’m happy to reenter it from a stronger position. I learned a lot during my brief time as a candidate, and the things I learned will never allow me to consider that time as wasted or a failure.

So as I usually say, bring on whatever’s next.

I’m ready.

HB2DF, Coby

Written by Coby Dillard

April 5, 2010 at 8:00 am

Posted in Editorials

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Coby,
    Speaking from the house of someone in the 3rd district, (i’m in the 1st) we (my friends and I) were encouraged by your desire to run. Bobby Scott may be a fine person, but we need voices like yours to cry out from the wilderness. I was hopeful for you. Keep speaking out — it makes sense.

    Kind Regards,
    LP
    Hampton, 1st district

    Louise

    April 5, 2010 at 5:12 pm

  2. Louise :Coby,Speaking from the house of someone in the 3rd district, (i’m in the 1st) we (my friends and I) were encouraged by your desire to run. Bobby Scott may be a fine person, but we need voices like yours to cry out from the wilderness. I was hopeful for you. Keep speaking out — it makes sense.
    Kind Regards,LPHampton, 1st district

    Oh — I should’ve said, “I’m ANTI-War”. Our military should be used to defend our homeland.

    Louise

    April 5, 2010 at 5:40 pm

  3. Thanks! And don’t give up hope for the 3rd just yet…. 😉

    Coby Dillard

    April 6, 2010 at 6:56 am

  4. Getting that degree is tremendously important for a lot of intangible reasons that will mean a lot to you. I went back to school later in life myself. It was worth it, and it will be worth it to you too, I’m certain.

    zeusiswatching

    April 12, 2010 at 12:49 pm


Comments are closed.

