The Dillard Doctrine

Urban Conservative Commentary on Politics & Life

If You Don’t Have Something Smart to Say…

Damnit, Haley:

“In interviews Barbour doesn’t have much to say about growing up in the midst of the civil rights revolution. ‘I just don’t remember it as being that bad,’ he said. ‘I remember Martin Luther King came to town, in ’62. He spoke out at the old fairground and it was full of people, black and white.'”

I get what he was trying to say. And last night, I tried to make the point that he was speaking from his vantage point in his home growing up. I get that.

However, upon further review…stupid.

Scratch Barbour off the presidential contender list, because this statement will be hung around him like a two-ton ball and chain. Anyone who thinks they can make a statement like this, and expect to win an election against an incumbent black president needs to have their head examined.

As I keep saying, we’re our own worst enemy at times. Damn shame.

HB2DF,

Coby

Written by Coby Dillard

December 21, 2010 at 7:52 pm

