The Dillard Doctrine

Urban Conservative Commentary on Politics & Life

Ignorance on Display

I have a lot of friends on Facebook who have no political leanings that we discuss. I also have a few who are to the left of me (including some WAAAY to the left of me). I also “like” pages of commentators and different people/groups/causes, sometimes just to engage in conversation.

Rarely do I share what comes across on those pages. But sometimes, someone (or someones) say something so incredibly stupid that 1) I’m surprised they said it, and 2) I’m surprised they said it out loud.

Earlier today, one of the commentators I “like” posted a story about the Senate’s voting down of the House’s spending bill. In response, someone posted:

I like that, anything against the republicans is fine by me!!!!!

Think about that for a second.

Back in January when Rep. Giffords was shot, I said that we all needed to ” step back, take a few breaths, see what we’ve become…and stop being it.” One of my friends took that as a suggestion that we’d all become capable of similar violence. Not so.

What we’ve become is a society that puts political gain above common sense.
Say what you want about the House Republicans’ spending cuts; argue them on their merits. That’s what we’re supposed to do. But to suggest that it’s a good thing for Democrats to vote down a bill just to deny Republicans a political victory is just…well, ignorant. That’s the kind of logic that’s contributed to the way things are now.

And before my friends on the left get riled up-yeah, this applies to my side too. I’m all for voting down bills because we disagree with them, but symbolic opposition for symbolic opposition’s sake isn’t helpful.

I’d like to think, like I did in January, that our elected officials would lead by example. I still believe that…because if left to the posturing of the people, I wonder if things will ever improve.

Written by Coby Dillard

March 9, 2011 at 7:50 pm

Posted in Editorials

