The Dillard Doctrine

Urban Conservative Commentary on Politics & Life

The Problem With Ron Paul

Last night, I took in some of the first presidential debate of the 2012 election season. Why there’s a debate among people who have only announced exploratory committees several months before the first primary is beyond me, but I digress.

Rep. Ron Paul (R-TX)  participated, and by many accounts-some biased and some un-he did well.

I’m not in the Ron Paul camp. For one, it’s hard for me to divorce some of his supporters from him. His “truther” element is beyond crazy, and while I get the constitutionality arguments surrounding the Iraq War, that’s a subject I take very personally (for obvious reasons).

But my biggest problem with him? He’s too smart for us.

Whenever I hear Ron Paul, or read something by him, there’s work involved. I have to have a dictionary and a copy of the Constitution next to me…because a lot of what he says confuses me. Honestly, I don’t get it when it’s immediately given to me.

I will say, that after the homework assignment that comes with him, his stuff makes sense. And, being a political junkie, I don’t mind the homework assignment.

The problem, though, is that a lot of Americans do. We’re so used to being spoon-fed what to believe, that when someone comes along that requires us to think, many Americans won’t want to do that. We love the sound bite and talking points, but to actually have to read, process, and make a decision? Too much work.

That’s what’s going to keep Ron Paul from being president. The same, to a lesser extent (since he just showed up on stage) goes for his son Rand.

Before my friends who are Ron Paulians (my name for them) jump on me, this isn’t an indictment of Paul. It’s more an indictment of  what we’ve become as Americans and how far we’ve lowered our standards.

Unfortunately, it’s going to limit him to his congressional district for the foreseeable future.

Written by Coby Dillard

May 6, 2011 at 10:01 am

Posted in Editorials

Tagged with ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s not all that will limit Ron Paul. How about this?

    Vivian J. Paige

    May 6, 2011 at 10:17 am

  2. Well, that definitely doesn’t help his case any….

    Coby Dillard

    May 6, 2011 at 11:12 am

  3. Linking Ron Paul to truthers is the same as the msm linking the kkk to the tea party. I have hope Americans will stop and think a little deeper than a bumper sticker this time. His 08 run has already changed America, changed the debate, all republicans say they are libertarian leaning now.

    John

    May 7, 2011 at 10:34 am

  4. I haven’t seen/heard anything suggesting Paul’s a truther. However, when I see a guy in a “Ron Paul Revolution” shirt talking about how 9/11 was an inside job, it kinda turns me off.

    That’s not Paul’s fault, and I know you can’t control what your supporters do/say. Still, it doesn’t help him, because most Americans won’t stop and think.

    Coby Dillard

    May 7, 2011 at 10:40 am

  5. Vivian, there has been a smear campaign going on. However, I have NEVER seen a direct link to Ron Paul and racism.

    To those sttacking his name, I would say, show med the news letter, not another 2nd hand account you point to as a source.

    That link did add in some truths that have nothing to do with racism.

    His position on the political spectrum………..and?

    Alex Jones supports him. Or has said good things about him. Ron Paul has no control over what other people do. I don’t know too much about Alex Jones. I have been to. Couple of links. I don’t know what stuff Alex Jones is into, but the relevance is ZERO unless someone shows a direct connection or obvious approval by Paul.

    The John Birch Society: I have spoken to some Birchers. Of the ones I have spoken to they were a little “out there”, however they did say things that we Libertarians agree with specifically fiscal policy and some aspects of individual liberty. The ones I spoke to were more likely to have religous doctrine tied into their politics. They tried to recruit me several times. Just not my “cup of tea”. I didn’t pick up any tones of racism. Maybe they are, but just didn’t show it. Still, when somebody talks freedom I tend to listen. If the Birchers find aspects of Ron Paul that they agree with, that in itself does not stain Ron Paul. I don’t even know if Birchers = KKK

    SPEAKING OF WHICH! How freakin’ convenient to say Ron Paul has stopped racist writngs!!! Gee……..why would that be, Vivian? Do they have problems finding a real document to back their claims? Show me an old document!!!

    Look, I am not a Ron Pauler. I like him and a LOT of my friends are Ron Paulers. You have met some of them. James Quigley is no racist, but he is a big fan of Ron Paul. I am leaning toward voting Ron Paul this time. Where I disagree with Ron Paul on foreign policy isn’t even a concern at this moment. In fact his view there would serve well right now as times are different.
    If you have PROOF that directly shows Ron Paul to be a racist, I will drop him instantly. I will likely start saying things like, “well, I agree with him there, but he is still a racist”. I will not suffer a racist the way the Democrats suffered and apologized for Senator Byrd. I will explain to my friends why my view has changed. That link is too weak. Nothing more than inflammatory. I read most of it, but not all. If you find a direct quote by Ron Paul, do me the favor of showing me. And I don’t mean what someone claims he said. I want proof he said it!
    As far as I can tell, Ron Paul stands for freedom. Racism is not compatible
    with true individual liberty.

    I have already debunked a previous claim of anti-semitism. It was a tiring and draining task. I don’t care for another. Basically it was coming from Republican circles. They pointed to Ron Paul not favoring some financial support for Israel. Truth revolved around his disbelief interventionism and foreign entanglements. They used that to construe hating Jews. Why? Because of money. They also didn’t like any criticism of Israel over their dealings with the Palestinians. Now, I don’t agree with everything Ron Paul has to say there either, but it is a FAR cry from anti-semitism.

    Britt Howard

    May 7, 2011 at 11:01 am

  6. Britt – I provided the link simply to show some of the other info out there about Ron Paul.

    Vivian J. Paige

    May 11, 2011 at 10:11 pm


Comments are closed.

