The Dillard Doctrine

Urban Conservative Commentary on Politics & Life

Memo to Jamie Radtke

Ms. Radtke,

It’s easier if I just say this to you directly. Take it as some friendly advice.

Relatively speaking, I know you, we’ve talked on the phone, traded emails, I’ve heard you speak, etc. I have an idea of who Jamie, the person, is.

Politically speaking, I’m going to wager we have a lot in common and agree on most things.

But I don’t know about that. Why? Because in your campaign, you’re not talking about you.

I’ve learned a lot about George Allen from you; your FB posts, tweets, emails, press releases, etc. Some of it is good info. Since I missed the majority of Allen’s term, your info has given me a picture of what he did and didn’t do. And that’s great.

But it’s not going to help you get elected. You’ve written a great narrative about Allen that people can either agree or disagree with. Meanwhile, no one can write one about you, because all that’s known is that you disagree with what Allen did as a senator. We know your personal story, sure…but nothing that helps position you as an alternative to Allen, or any of the other contenders for the GOP nod. You’re disagreeing on votes past, things already done…and while that shows some principle, I don’t know what you’re going to do if you win the primary, much less the general election.

Even your most vocal supporters can’t talk about you without invoking Allen in some way. They don’t even talk about you, except to say you’re not Allen. We know that.

I don’t know if you’re the right person for this job, but that’s an experience argument. That could be resolved if there was some substance underneath the rhetoric. I’ve seen you talk policy, and I believe there is.

If you want to be an alternative to Allen, you have to be that alternative. I don’t want you to scare me into not voting for Allen, because at the end of the day, that doesn’t mean I’ll vote for you. Talk more about you, and what you want to do in the Senate.

I-and a lot of other people-are waiting.

Written by Coby Dillard

June 4, 2011 at 4:00 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] The Dillard Doctrine, Coby Dillard offered up some  “friendly advice”  in his “Memo to Jamie Radtke“: Even your most vocal supporters can’t talk about you without invoking Allen in some way. […]


Comments are closed.

