The Dillard Doctrine

Urban Conservative Commentary on Politics & Life

Proverbs 19:21

Another assignment from my Old Testament class; this one from the book of Proverbs:

The human mind may devise many plans, but it is the purpose of the Lord that will be established.

This particular scripture hold special relevance to me, as I look over the various directions I’ve taken in life, and where I currently stand now.

When I was younger, I wanted to join the military and be an astronaut. From there, I became very interested in music, and wanted to be a writer and producer. My aspiring music career turned into six years in the Navy, which has led me to formal education and a budding career in politics. And I’m still not sure if that’s what God ultimately has in store for me.

For too many people, the call of the Lord to follow a certain path can trigger confusion, fear and/or flight. We, being unable to understand the will of God, try our best to escape what God wants us to do for Him, usually for a variety of reasons: fear of our inability to succeed, the uncertainty that comes from the simple command “follow Me.” Not knowing and understanding, we create our own interpretation of what it is we’re supposed to be doing, and that interpretation often leads us in even bigger circles and to even more confusion.

Once we get to the point where we realize that it’s not our will that prevails, there is a sense of peace. Knowing that-as multiple songwriters have said-our steps are ordered by God resolves most of the uncertainty and fear, as the command to follow comes with the expectation that, in our obedience, God will protect us and give what we need to fulfill His purpose.

Other memorable verses:

Proverbs 20:18-Plans are established by taking advice; wage war by following wise guidance.

Proverbs 27:2-Let another praise you and not your own mouth; a stranger, and not your own lips.

Proverbs 3:5-6-Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not rely on your own insight. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.

Written by Coby Dillard

October 9, 2011 at 8:00 am

Posted in School Assignments

