The Dillard Doctrine

Urban Conservative Commentary on Politics & Life

Ecclesiastes 3:1-9

For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven: a time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted; a time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up; a time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance; a time to throw away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing; a time to seek, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to throw away; a time to tear, and a time to sew; a time to keep silence, and a time to speak; a time to love, and a time to hate; a time for war, and a time for peace.

Given the last couple weeks of my life, it’s interesting that this passage came up in our studies.

Of all the political issues that are important to me, helping our veterans is at the top of the list. I’ve always said that, no matter what I finally end up doing in the political arena, I want to be in a position to ensure that those I served with and who served before and after me are taken care of. I’ve always thought the best way to do that was as an elected official, which is what led me back to school and which has, until lately, been my ultimate goal.

Last week, I interviewed for, was offered, and accepted a new position at TCC that will allow me to do just what I wanted to do.  That’s lead me to wonder, is my time in the political arena-my “season of war,” such as it is-over?

Everyone in their life goes through certain stages-life, death; childhood, adulthood; single life, married life; etc. This passage of scripture parallels those life stages, and I can point out the ones I’ve already experienced:

A time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted: I would look at my educational experience as my time to plant, because it’s an investment in greater things to come later-the time to pluck what is planted.

A time to kill, and a time to heal: I’ve had the “time to kill” in serving my country during a time of war. I’m just really coming into the “time to heal;” still dealing with a lot of things both physical and emotional from that service.

A time to keep silence, and a time to speak: this describes my life after the military, when I decided to start speaking up and out on the things that were important to me.

A time for war, and a time for peace: if my military service was the “continuation of politics by other means,” as Clausewitz described, then my civilian involvement in the political process is a new “time of war.”

…and maybe, it’s time to stop fighting, so I can experience the other seasons that life has to offer. As this passage suggests, those seasons aren’t all meant to be happy; in fact, many of them may be painful. But they are meant to be experienced by all, and to offer lessons that we may miss in the business of our lives.

Written by Coby Dillard

October 16, 2011 at 8:00 am

Posted in School Assignments

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A very good breakdown of the scripture, and how you believe it is playing out in your life.

    Kim

    October 17, 2011 at 11:46 am


Comments are closed.

